Skip to content

Sandy Stones and Hello Dolly

April 7, 2014

Different songs from Hello Dolly have been sung in our home very regularly lately. Our sophomore daughter has been a part of this production and we have thoroughly enjoyed seeing it several times the past two weeks. One of the assignments I had the weekend before opening night, was to pull together the props for the scene in Harmonia Gardens (if you remember the movie this is the scene where Louie Armstrong sings the title song to Barbara Streisand). There are 8 tables in this fine dining establishment on stage at Mesa High. I needed plates, silverware, wine glasses, food, vases and flowers.

IMG_1158

I have never done anything with props before – but I figured I could find stuff to set a table with. The director, Sandy Stones took the time to give me her vision of the tables and then I was on my own. I did the best I could but I had a few questions long after Mrs. Stones had gone on to solve other issues that inevitably arise. What to do? Do I bother this totally busy, needed by so many people, amazing woman? Do I try and figure it out? Do I ask someone else? This was 3 days before dress rehearsal and to say things were very chaotic would be an understatement!

So the easiest was to ask someone else – which I did. The assistant director didn’t know and directed me to ask Stones. I wandered around backstage and eventually found her – surrounded by several people who needed direction from her (just like I did). I hated to join the line but really had no choice. It was crowded and busy and I waited for my chance to quickly talk to her.

When it was my turn I was amazed at how calm and caring Sandy was. She looked at me and gave me her full attention. We had to move to a different room to get the answer to my question and she willingly came and provided the needed direction. I felt like she was happy to see me, to give me direction, and grateful that I was willing to help.

IMG_1281

I have been thinking about this short interaction for a while. I couldn’t help but compare her interaction with me to that of the Savior. I am pretty sure He is busy – but He always has time for me. I know he is aware of what I need. I know he will give me the direction I seek. I feel love, concern, and comfort from Him as I pray.

What a blessing to me to feel of the Savior’s love and be reminded of how the Savior treats me by the way I was treated by another of His daughters. And what a good reminder that I can treat others the same way!  Thanks Sandy for being such an example to me of Christ-like kindness and concern!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment

The Sherwood Show

Trying to become the person I want to be

Life with the Scott's

Trying to become the person I want to be

The Rockin Rockwoods

Trying to become the person I want to be

Greg & Nicolle's Blog

Trying to become the person I want to be

KrisRunner

Exploring the world of Kris and Co.